Week 1 – Complete!

I did it.  I finished Week One of the Couch to 5K program!

I didn’t do it on Friday, as originally planned (went to play trivia and drink free beer, instead) but I made it up on Saturday morning!  I had my husband drop me off at our local library, so I could return a book and see if I could use their wi-fi to get my iPod to work.  Now it won’t even access the iTunes Store.  Boo…

Anyway, there is a lake there that has a path around it where people walk and run all the time.  I think it’s a half a mile around.  I did about half of that and veered off toward home.  The iPod skipped once, but it was my fault.  =)  I felt good!  It was a gorgeous, cool, spring day.  Not a cloud in the sky!  I tried to watch my form, and set visual goals for the 60 second runs.  It worked!  It really helped to push me.   I even made it home before my husband finished his errands!

The rest of the day was crazy, though.  I was in a LOT of pain.  It almost felt like I had been in a car accident – like if I had been hit and my body tightened up to brace myself.  Every muscle in my body ached – from my eyes to my head to my toes.  I tried to drink a lot of water, because my husband thought I may have been over-caffeinated.  (I had finished off a Monster drink before we started cleaning the house.)  I thought maybe it was because I was doing a lot of bending and lifting and stuff while cleaning – but I couldn’t understand why (or how) it would have come on so quickly.  I mean, we weren’t even done with the house before I started feeling that way!

It kept on like that until this morning, really.  I felt a little better yesterday – which was nice.  I tried to keep myself moving, and got the occasional shoulder/neck rub from my husband.  But it wasn’t until this morning that I actually felt right.  My eyes are still a little uncomfortable, but it’s only if I look up at an extreme angle.  I’ll just keep myself from doing that.  lol!

So, that being said, I’m looking forward to Week 2 Day 1.  I’ve seen some posts on Active.com that tell me it’s going to be tough, but it can be done!   I’m debating on changing schedules, though.  I tried to do a Mon/Wed/Fri thing last week, but that didn’t work out as well as I would have liked.  And I really enjoyed the morning run on Saturday.  I would love to run on weekday mornings, eventually – but I’m not a morning person, so forcing myself to run in the afternoons is a better way to get me started on this program.  If I had to run in the mornings, I would never get up!  =)

Anyway, I do like to rise a bit early on the weekends, so that I don’t feel like the day is wasted.  It was really nice to get the day started with some fresh air.  I’m thinking that I may switch over to a Tues/Thurs/Sat schedule instead.  Since its so early in the program, I think it would be a good time to make the switch, as well.  So, sometime today I’ll decide, but it’s looking like I’m moving toward the switch.  We shall see!

Leave a Reply

