Welcome ICLWers!

I appreciate you stopping by! 

As you may have guessed by my title, this blog was created because I am getting too fat for my liking.

I am 33 years old and I feel like I weigh a ton.  Literally.  I am almost 200 pounds and though I really don’t think I look  quite that large, there are times when I feel that large.

How did they know?

 

Anyway, I have decided to take up running, but as usual, the Queen of Procrastination has reared her slow moving head and has taken over my will.  It took her a while, but she got there.  Well, that and I have been fighting a stint of depression and stress.  Yes, I know that exercise helps to alleviate depression and stress by releasing endorphins.  But that ain’t enough to get me going yet.  I am going to take this weekend and regroup – tackling the days one at a time so that I can have a fresh start on Monday. 

Don’t get me wrong, I’m not *not* going to do anything this weekend.  I fully intend on going for at least one brisk walk.  Possibly mixing it up some running, but I’m not going to go into working my ass off training mode until Monday, when I hope to have a better diet planned for the week.  Eating fast food every day is soooo not helping, and I know it!  (It can also be pretty scary as Poor Lucky Me has noted.)

I desperately need to go food shopping. 

I am pretty excited to get going on this Couch to 5K program, though.  I may not be the fastest at my first race, but I won’t be the last!  And that is just fine with me! 

So, that’s a bit about me and my blog.  Again, thank you for visiting!  I welcome all complaints constructive criticism, so please do not hesitate to give some.  I will hopefully see you here again soon!

HAPPY ICLW!!!

13 Comments »

  1. junebug Said:

    I’ve heard of the program but never tried it. I wish you the best of luck with it. I’ve tried running several times but I don’t think I will ever make it past the 5k(if I ever make it there).
    ICLW

  2. maredsous Said:

    Great plan. Take it easily but do something every day if possible. You just need to find what motivates you. Having a goal like a race is always a hug plus. Getting outside encouragement. I like to track things and see progress. One of my favorite things is tracking my heart rate and burned calories. It is amazing how a little effort can really add up over time.

  3. Christina Said:

    I think you have a good attitude about your first 5K. I made the goal for my first that I just wanted to run the entire thing. Yes, at times it probably looked like more of a hobbity walk, but it was my run. I didn’t care about my time at all, but as it turned out, I didn’t finish last! That was good for me!

    Good luck, looking forward to following along with your progress!

    Christina
    the subfertile frugalista

  4. Elizabeth Said:

    Hi there! Couch to 5k is a great plan, as is the Galloway method (walk a little, run a little, walk a little more… eventually you’re running more than walking). The hardest part is starting, isn’t that what they say?

    I was out of practice for a while, but once I crossed my first finish line a year and half ago, I was hooked. It’s amazing what our bodies can do when our minds stay positive. Glad I found your blog via ICLW. Looking forward to reading more! Best wishes.

  5. Evelyn Said:

    I saw your post on communityactive.com. i just registered for my second 1/2 marathon in KS and I want you to know that you CAN do this! I’m 30 and a little over 1 year ago weighed almost 250lbs. I’m down to 157 (on a good day) and have ran 1 5k. After that 1st 5K I was hooked on running and trained for 3 months for the KC 1/2 marathon last October. I was never really athletic. Played one year of volleyball when I was a freshman in high school. Don’t lose focus of what you want. You control your destiny! Best of luck!

  6. T Lee Said:

    Ugh, I hate the chicken or the egg thing that happens with exercise. Yes, I know that excercising will give me energy, but I am entirely too tired to put my sweats on, let alone run, lol.
    Good luck with the 5k!!!

    ICLW

  7. Marla Said:

    Couch to 5 k, eh? Wow! Sounds intriguing! Can I walk those 5 k, cause I hate to run. If I could walk it, I might consider it. I think most of my weight problem is laziness. Lol!

    Happy ICLW!

  8. Kate Said:

    I think it sounds like you are headed in the right direction! We all have days or weekend where we just can’t motivate ourselves enough to exercise or eat right. No one is perfect.

    I can’t wait to see how you do in your first race!

  9. kimbosue Said:

    Great plan! Good luck with it. If you put your mind to it, you can do anything!
    ~ICLW

  10. Lisa Said:

    Hey I am also Liddy over at the unfair struggle. I also have a weight loss/fitness blog about my speedskating at My Bad Ass Speedskating Thighs. I have added you to my blogroll over there and to my reader.

  11. Serendipity Said:

    I always envy runners, no matter what I do I just can’t bring myself to like it. I love walking though, but only on the way somewhere, I dislike turning around and coming back – I could walk and walk and walk as long as someone would pick me up at the end of it so I didn’t have to double back on myself… weird huh?

    Bes tof luck with your couch to 5k program.

  12. Mrs. Gamgee Said:

    Good for you! I’m trying to keep some similar goals….

    ICLW

  13. Willow Said:

    I love the couch to 5K program! I was about halfway through it when suddenly we adopted our baby boy, and I have not run since but really, really should. Good luck and I hope to be right there with you, back on the exercise wagon soon 🙂


{ RSS feed for comments on this post} · { TrackBack URI }

Leave a Reply

