Finally – I have broken through!

It took some doing, but I finally started to walk.

I know, I know – I should have done this much sooner, but I didn’t. I only have myself to blame for that.

What prompted me to finally get off my ass? My husband. Well, the boy he calls his ‘protege’ anyway.  During some sort of discussion, they have decided that they want to go into the Police Academy in order to get a foot in the door for a Fish & Wildlife position in the future.  Using this newly found determination to my advantage, I suggested that he come walking with me after work the next day.  He did, and we walked a couple of miles!  I was thrilled!

It was really cold, though – so it didn’t go quite as well as I would have liked, but we were still out and doing something!

The next day, I got home from work, put on my running shoes and did another 2 miles – sans husband, unfortunately.  But still.. I did a walk/ run this time – walking for five minutes and running for two.  It went well and I did two full miles in just under thirty minutes!  I am very pleased with myself.

I even felt it at work on Friday.  My thighs and calves were just a bit tight – and I loved it!

Since I have to go to Saint Augustine today, I am going to make Sunday the beginning of my new week, and I’m very much looking forward to it.

I did try to update the DailyMile badge up there to show my runs, but it’s not working for some reason.  I’m not sure why, but I’ll keep trying.  In the meantime, I will figure out a different way to inform you of my walks and runs.  Maybe I will be able to link my Nike+ account to the site.  I guess we shall see…

1 Comment »

  1. iwanttodothat Said:

    Daria,

    Keep up the good work! You can do it! Cute blog. I’m following you now, so give us all some inspiration!

    I’m going to try to figure out how to link my Nike+ to my blog, too, and maybe that will help me get my daily cardio done!

    Ann


{ RSS feed for comments on this post} · { TrackBack URI }

Leave a Reply

